(812) 276-9530
Built in 1857, the historic Carr High School stands as a lasting tribute to the value our early settlers placed on education.

The building served as a school until 1934.  After that, the building was used as a church.  Charles Darkis and Evelyn Hanner were married in the church in1959

Originally intended to be a one room school, the upper floor or "high school" was added soon after 1857, transforming the school into the classic "lower grades and upper grades" model.  There were 43 pupils attending the first year. The first graduating class consisted of 4 students in 1884

Years of neglect and vandalism had taken a toll on the historic building. Now the Weddleville Cemetery Association works to stabilize and restore the historic structure. The interior plaster has been repaired and the graffiti painted over.  Much restoration work remains to be done, but the building has been stabilized and is available for tours or community events.  The Association holds an annual gathering, traditionally on the third Saturday of August.

Repairs to the masonry and brick  exterior were completed by master stoneworkers Shane and Shawn Weddle.

In recent years, the restored lower level of the building has hosted several memorial/funeral services, community gatherings and meetings.  The building is also available for memorials, weddings or other events by reservation.

Restoration on the upper floor has begun.

The school house stands on a hill in the verdant Jackson County countryside.  In this peaceful oasis it is possible to remember when times were simpler. as you listen to the breeze blow through the trees on a quiet spring day, you can almost step back in time and hear the chalk squeak on the blackboard as busy young scholars concentrate on learning the 3 "R"s.
:: Historic Schoolhouse Restoration
WelcomeHistoryHistoric Carr High SchoolWeddleville CemeteryFind Us

Before restoration...............and after
The above photos show the restoration of the lower floor of the building.  Other restoration efforts included replacing the roof, adding shutters to the windows, plaster repair and painting the walls, ceiling and floor. Masonry repair to the outer brick and tuck pointing is made possible by a grant from the Owen-Carr Township Fund and the Jackson County Community Foundation.